Other Game "Communities"

Nba 2k is first sports game that I have played exclusively in a long time. And I notice that the player base is kinda mixed, positive and negative, when it comes to discussions about the game. And I am no different, I love 2k, but I’m simultaneously mad at 2k a lot if the time for its flaws.

My question is: is this love/hate thing something that is common to all the sports games? FIFA? The Show? Madden? NHL? Or is this just a 2k thing?

I have just started watching vids of the MLB content creators and they don’t seem all that negative on the game but this is just a first impression.

1 Like

Don’t really know about other sports titles, but that love/hate relationship exists in nearly every large game. Here are some examples from the games I have a lot of experience with:
League: Up there as the most toxic community. Newer players tend to love the game, and anyone who’s played enough does nothing but constantly bash the game while continuing to play 4 hours a day.

CSGO: As the premier fps of the last decade, people love the game, but Valve’s communications skills are on par with 2k’s so much of the hate has more to do with Valve rather than the game itself.

Overwatch: Game has its issues, people started to hate it more and more as time went on, and it might have the worst community I’ve ever seen.

Hearthstone: Almost as toxic as league, people still love the game and most of the hate and disdain is because of the people in the community rather than the game itself.

Valorant: Because it’s a free, easy to run, and new fps made by a large company, it has a very large player base in a short amount of time. A lot of people love the game simply because it’s their first fps or they got tired of cs and rainbow and a lot of people hate it because the community is toxic and it isn’t as good as cs or rainbow.

Minecraft: Everyone loves Minecraft

4 Likes